Ioannis Gatsiounis

My Appearance on Chinese Television

In Uncategorized on December 10, 2010 at 7:48 am

Following my recent cover story for Newsweek examining Africa, Southeast Asia and Latin America to debunk the myth that China is taking over the world, the country’s state-run television invited me on as a guest to discuss news that China had surpassed Japan as the world’s number 2 economy. What I found most intriguing was the degree to which the propagandists in the studio went to hype China as big, brave and unstoppable, unwittingly drawing attention to some of the country’s deep insecurities and weaknesses. I will add to this entry once I receive the transcript (it’s being mailed!); please revisit soon.

Leave a Reply

